Skip to content

Birds

March 6, 2017

img_3257

How did I start on the birds? I was preparing for a papier mache workshop – showing the pre-school teachers at Washington International School how to  make vessels and sculptures using tissue paper and newspaper over armatures. I had to make a few samples to show the sculptural technique, so I made a couple of mockups to show the steps, using toilet paper rolls and other cards stock, like food cartons, and wire.

I had so much fun making the demos, that I kept on going. Starting with random strips of newspaper.

img_2750

Then, I started covering them with other materials – all found and recycled, and they took on themes.

img_3197

First, I made the newspaper strips more specific, using just the comics. Then, I used pages from a discarded German bible (found in a restaurant in Chicago).

img_3253

Next, I made songbirds covered with strips of old sheet music

img_3256

… and hymnals.

Next, strips of flyers, left over from Chinese New Year (2017 is the year of the Rooster, so I made a chick).

img_3254

To be continued.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

