Skip to content

Thing-a-Day – January 24 – dyeing gut w/ various liquids

February 7, 2015

Day 24 of the Thing-a-Day Challenge

Materials: soaked sausage casing (hog gut), black tea, green tea, liquid from cooking gampi, armatures to cover with gut

Today’s experiment contributes to my ongoing gut-covered wire shell project.  As I have been making more of the shell pieces, I have realized that I want to add more color (albeit still within a fairly narrow palette).

SimpleShellGut

Since tea is available in such variety and quantity (and since Laura had tried this before, so encouraged me), I started playing with it as a dyeing agent – both black and green tea.  Also, I have some leftover warm brownish liquid from when I cooked up some gampi (I had saved it, of course! You never know….).

Here is an image of three colors (from left to right) black tea, gampi juice, and natural:

gut 3 colors

The black tea reacted with the black annealed steel, producing spreading dark spots (rather than just rust) and strong darker reddish portions where the gut veins (?) run through the material.  The gampi juice had a softer, brown overall color. I didn’t take an image of the green tea sample, but it was only slightly yellower than the natural sample.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

