Skip to content

Thing-a-Day – January 14 – small brass nautilus sculpture

January 24, 2015

Day 14 of the Thing-a-Day Challenge

Materials: Brass wire, gut (sausage casing), acrylic glazing medium

When I don’t feel like trying out a new form, one of the shapes I fall back on is an abstracted nautilus, incorporating a Fibonacci spiral in a three-dimensional shell form.   This one, made from steel and high-shrinkage flax paper, is about 18″ in diameter and from about 2010.

5SkeletonNaut

 

This one, from 2011, is about 8″ in diameter.SmOpenNautDk1

 

 

 

 

 

 

BrassNautilusDryThis time, I made the 3″ armature out of 20 gauge brass wire (no, I did not do all of this in one day – I had already started the armature) and covered it in gut (sausage casing).  I love how translucent it is.  I coated it with acrylic medium to seal the gut and make it less brittle.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

