Skip to content

Thing-a-Day – January 10 – finishing a wire armature

January 14, 2015

Day 10 of the Thing-a-Day Challenge

Materials: old unfinished necklace armature, extra wire, pliers (plus time)

I wish I had thought to take a photo of this unfinished wire armature before I started fiddling with it.  But I had already altered it significantly before I decided that this was going to be my thing for the day.

armature 2

This armature started as the tapered horn-shaped middle portion of the piece, intended to be the main portion of a thick, hinged necklace.  I got about halfway through it before I realized that it just wasn’t hanging correctly and I didn’t want to make the effort to adjust it.  It was complicated enough that I couldn’t bear to throw it away, but a tight enough construction that I could do much to alter it.

 

armatureSo it sat around for about a year until I was less invested in making jewelry and more open to making small sculptural pieces (again). It is about 6″ x 6″ x 4.5″.

 

Now it is a riff on Fibonacci’s golden spiral. I plan to cover it with gut as part of my recent foray into playing with that material.  But I like it as is, so we shall see.

20150109_224005 copy

 

I have already started a related form that will be at least three times the size but with a twisted more grid-like structure. Stay tuned.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

