Skip to content

Thing-a-Day – January 5 – knitted Wormhole tube

January 8, 2015
tags:

Day 5 of the Thing-a-Day Challenge

Materials: Leftover yarn, large knitting needles

YarnThis thing has actually taken me more than one day to complete, but I am being very hard on myself and only counting it as one thing.  I decided to contribute to Samantha Rausch‘s Wormhole installation for the Arlington Arts Center. It is a yarnbombing project, and after my happy experience working on the bridge installation in Brookland last year, I couldn’t resist.

Here is a Washington Post article about the Brookland project, as well as Ward 5 blog write-up that includes a photo of part of the final installation.

I committed to making a 6-foot tube for the Wormhole, and although I am a very fast knitter and used chunky yarn and large needles, this was another case of biting off more than I can chew (in one day at least). I am once again knocking myself over the head for choosing to do something that requires more time than I really had planned spending on a peripheral activity.  “Just say yes” is not always the best advice, even if the process is fun.

My tube includes yarn I spun and dyed in 1988 (yes, that long ago – the salmon/brown two-ply slubby yarn), leftover balls of green yarn from a sweater I made some time in the 90s, and a few bits of other chunky yarn I had lying around. I decided to stop trying to incorporate too many varieties of yarn after a few early attempts.  I was excited to use up the extra bits, but ran into an issue of the gauge changing as I switched types of yarn…  How many years have I been knitting – 40??  Surely I could have seen this problem coming.  In any event, despite a somewhat lumpy result, I am happy with with piece.  It will be one of many in the project and will stretch over the tubing and probably look just fine in the end. I look forward to seeing it installed later this month!

If you are near Arlington Arts Center between January 24 and April 5, 2015, drop by to see it!

yarn tube

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

