Skip to content

Thing-a-Day – January 3 – plastic mesh bracelet

January 4, 2015
tags:

Day 3 of the Thing-a-Day Challenge

Materials: plastic mesh (2 pieces) from packing for glasses? or bottles? (surrounding gifts from a few years ago)

Plastic mesh1I am trying to be better about not keeping every single piece of plastic mesh unless I have a use for it, but these were too intriguing to recycle, so I stashed them away and today I decided to do something very basic and turn them into my thing of the day.

Unlike most other plastic mesh – the beguilingly colorful bags that many veggies come in – these are compact and fairly narrow, as well as nice and springy.  I was thinking of doing something fancy and intertwined with them (channeling my deep sea creature obsession) but decided that their true beauty was their simplicity.  One tube would have made a decent bracelet, but (since I had two…) two made a more dense texture and a more stable structure.

plastic mesh2aplastic mesh2plastic mesh3

Some day I may try to dye the plastic, but for now, translucent/clear is just fine.  This is a comfortable, one-size-fits-all cuff.

plastic mesh4Phew!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

